View the winners and shortlists here >

New Media Writing Prize 2017 awards event

We hope you will be able to come to this year’s (8thannual awards event. It happens on Weds Jan 17th at Bournemouth University, Dorset, UK.

We have some excellent entries this year, from all around the world, which we will be showing off.  The winners in all categories will be announced during the evening.

We also have a brilliant guest speaker, Adrian Smith. If you don’t know who he is, read on…

·        In 1988 Adrian and his brother Jeremy set up a small British game design studio in Derby, Core Design, creating games like Rick Dangerous for the Amiga, ZX Spectrum, Commodore and Amstrad.

·        In 1996, they invented a new game, Tomb Raider, with a female hero, Lara Croft. The success of this iconic title was primarily responsible for the company being bought by Eidos Interactive.

·        Adrian ran a 200-strong game production team for Eidos Plc, producing six games in the Lara Croft –Tomb Raider series and winning numerous international industry awards including, on two separate occasions, Develop’s ‘Developer of the Year’ award.

·        In that role he managed and produced over 30 game titles across multiple formats with combined sales of over 50 million units.

·        Adrian is now Chief Operating Officer of Bournemouth based games development studio, Amuzo.adrian and lara

To attend the awards evening, you should go to https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/new-media-writing-prize-2017…  Tickets are free.


The 2016 Awards Evening

We’re delighted to announce the 2016 winners:

Main prize: JR Carpenter for The Gathering Cloud

Student prize: Jamie Paddock (BACOMM final year) for The Dying Mind

Dot Award:  Theodoros Chiotis, for his idea for a multi-media autobiographical ‘performance’

Gorkana Award for UK digital journalism: Carla Pedret for The Exodus Data Project

Gorkana Award for international digital journalism: Berta Tilmantaite and team for Will to Win (Lithuanian Paralympian stories)

Event organiser Jim Pope said: “2016 has seen yet another brilliant set of shortlisted pieces and worthy winners. We have had entries from all around the world, and the winners come from Canada, Spain, the UK, Lithuania, and Greece – so truly an international event. With £5,500 in prize money this year, the event is clearly expanding in reach and status and we look forward to the 2017 round ”. 


Unicorn Training CEO Peter Phillips presenting the Student Prize to JamiePaddock


NMWP Organiser Jim Pope, judge Lisa Gee, Chris Meade, Peter Phillips, Gorkana’s Philip Smith, JR Carpenter, Jamie Paddock


Gorkana’s Head of News and Content, Philip Smith, talking about the Gorkana winners


Chris Mead of if:book UK talking about the Dot Award


Unicorn’s Peter Phillips announcing the Student Prize


Main Prize winner JR Carpenter and Chris Meade

(images by Bournemouth University)

The New Media Writing Prize showcases exciting and inventive stories that integrate a variety of formats, platforms, and digital media. This international prize is now in its 7th year. 

The prize encourages and promotes the best in new media writing and is leading the way toward the future of the ‘written’ word and storytelling. In the past six years, the NMWP has attracted entries from the very best and most innovative writers in the field. For the 2016 competition there will be four prizes: The Main Prize, the Student Prize, the Dot Award, and the Gorkana Journalism Awards.


The Main Prize for 2015 was awarded to High Muck A Muck: Playing Chinese

The High Muck A Muck Collective are: Nicola Harwood, Fred Wah, Jin Zhang, Bessie Wapp and Thomas Loh.
The People’s Prize was won by two.5 for Recollections: 12 Vignettes of Lashihai  two.5 are Viccy Adams and Samantha Silver.
The Student Prize went to Shaun Hickman for Kindred
And, for the first year, the Dot Award was presented to J.R. Carpenter for her idea for her interactive project about the wind and the weather. We will feature JR’s progress on the project over the coming months.

highmuckamuck collective

The High Muck A Muck Collective talking to us from Canada

jim long shot

Jim Pope running through the shortlisters

Shaun and Peter

Shaun Hickman (Student Prize winner) and Unicorn Training CEO, Peter Phillips

JR and Chris

Dot Award winner, JR Carpenter, and if:book UK boss, Chris Meade

Viccy Adams

Viccy Adams speaking to us from Edinburgh


Chris Meade chairing the Q and A with Andy Campbell, Chris Joseph, and Kate Pullinger

View previous winners & shortlists